Adele, Ed Sheeran, Dave and Raye among songwriters up for Ivor Novello awards


The nominees for this year’s Ivor Novello Awards for songwriting have been announced, with Adele, Dave, Ed Sheeran, Raye and Coldplay among the stars who have been recognised.

Other artists up for awards include Laura Mvula, Little Simz, Sam Fender, Holly Humberstone, FKA Twigs, James Blake and Rag’n’Bone Man.

Producer and writer Inflo, real name Dean Josiah Cover, leads the nominations with four – including three in the best album category for his work with Cleo Sol on Mother, SAULT on Nine, and Little Simz on Sometimes I Might Be Introvert.

Other artists up for the award include Mvula for Pink Noise and Sleaford Mods for Spare Ribs.

Coldplay. Pic: Ivor Novello Awards
Coldplay are up for the songwriter of the year award. Pic: Ivor Novello Awards
FKA Twigs. Pic: Aidan Zamiri/ Ivor Novello Awards
FKA Twigs is nominated in the best contemporary song category. Pic: Aidan Zamiri/ Ivor Novello Awards

The Ivor Novello Awards recognise creative musical achievement in songwriting and composition, and also celebrate a number of singer-songwriters and groups for their wider contribution to UK music.

Artists nominated for the ceremony’s big prize, songwriter of the year – which organisers say honours “outstanding bodies of songs” released in 2021 – are Adele, Sheeran, Dave, Coldplay and Raye. For Sheeran, the nod comes just a day after his Shape Of You copyright trial victory.

Individual songs up for awards include Rag’n’Bone Man’s All You Ever Wanted, Adele’s Easy On Me, Humberstone’s Haunted House, Fender’s Seventeen Going Under, and Let’s Go Home Together, performed by Ella Henderson and Tom Grennan.

More on Adele

The Ivors also recognise songwriting and composition for television, film and computer games, with the scores for Marvel’s Guardian Of The Galaxy game and the Princess Diana biopic film Spencer both among the nominees.

Former Ivors winner and judge Shaznay Lewis, of All Saints, said it had been “a stand-out year” for music.

“I am full of admiration for the 77 talented songwriters and composers we are celebrating this year,” she said. “Their work and words touch on a dizzying range of emotions, and I count myself lucky to have heard their stories.”

Read more: Laura Mvula interview
Read more: Rag’n’Bone Man interview

Dean 'Inflo' Josiah Cover. Pic: Ivor Novello Awards
Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover leads the nominations for his work with artists including Little Simz. Pic: Ivor Novello Awards
Tom Grennan. Pic: Ivor Novello Awards
Tom Grennan’s songs Let’s Go Home Together and Little Bit Of Love have both been shortlisted. Pic: Ivor Novello Awards

This year’s ceremony will be the 67th Ivors presentation, taking place in London on 19 May.

The shortlisted artists, writers and songs are judged by award-winning songwriters and composers from the Ivors Academy, with recent winners including Harry Styles, Lianne La Havas, Celeste, Calvin Harris and Goldfrapp.

Now in its third year, the event’s rising star award features an all-female list of nominees this time round: Ashaine White, Luz, Matilda Mann, Naomi Kimpenu, and PinkPantheress.

Scroll down for the full list of nominees.

Holly Humberstone. Pic: Louis Brown/ Ivor Novello Awards
Former Ivors rising star Holly Humberstone is nominated in the song categories this year. Pic: Louis Brown/ Ivor Novello Awards
Little Simz. Pic: Ivor Novello Awards
Little Simz is in the running for best album and best contemporary song. Pic: Ivor Novello Awards


Mother – written by Cleo Sol and Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover, performed by Cleo Sol
Nine – written by Cleo Sol, Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover and Jack Peñate, performed by SAULT
Pink Noise – written by Dann Hume and Laura Mvula, performed by Laura Mvula
Sometimes I Might Be Introvert – written by Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover and Little Simz, performed by Little Simz
Spare Ribs – written by Andrew Fearn and Jason Williamson, performed by Sleaford Mods


Body – written by Gotcha, Russ Millions and Tion Wayne, performed by Russ Millions & Tion Wayne
Coming Back – written by James Blake, Dominic Maker, Starrah and SZA, performed by James Blake ft SZA
Don’t Judge Me – written by FKA twigs, Fred again.. and Headie One, performed by FKA twigs, Headie One, Fred again..
I Love You, I Hate You, written by Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover and Little Simz, performed by Little Simz
Just For Me – written by Mura Masa, PinkPantheress, Mike Kinsella, Steve Holmes and Steve Lamos, performed by PinkPantheress


After Love – composed by Chris Roe
Censor – composed by Emilie Levienaise-Farrouch
Last Night in Soho – composed by Steven Price
Spencer – composed by Jonny Greenwood
The World To Come – composed by Daniel Blumberg

Sleaford Mods. Pic: Ivor Novello Awards
Sleaford Mods are up for best album for Spare Ribs. Pic: Ivor Novello Awards


Marvel’s Guardians Of The Galaxy – composed by Richard Jacques
Omno – composed by Benedict Nichols
Returnal – composed by Bobby Krlic


All You Ever Wanted – written by Mike Elizondo, Natalie Hemby, Ben Jackson-Cook and Rag’n’Bone Man, performed by Rag’n’Bone Man
Easy On Me – written by Adele and Greg Kurstin, performed by Adele
Haunted House – written by Sarah Aarons, Holly Humberstone and Rob Milton, performed by Holly Humberstone
Let’s Go Home Together – written by James Arthur, Tom Barnes, Ella Henderson, Pete Kelleher and Ben Kohn, performed by Ella Henderson & Tom Grennan
Seventeen Going Under – written and performed by Sam Fender


Blitz Spirit With Lucy Worsley – composed by Jessica Dannheisser
Landscapers – composed by Arthur Sharpe
Robin Robin – composed by Ben Please and Beth Porter
The Outlaws – composed by Stew Jackson and Dan Jones
The Serpent – composed by Dominic Scherrer

Rag'n'Bone Man. Pic: Fiona Garden/ Ivor Novello Awards
Rag’n’Bone Man has been nominated for his hit All You Ever Wanted. Pic: Fiona Garden/ Ivor Novello Awards


Bad Habits – written by Fred again.., Johnny McDaid and Ed Sheeran, performed by Ed Sheeran
Bed – written by David Guetta, Jin Jin, Raye and Giorgio Tuinfort, performed by Joel Corry, Raye and David Guetta
Cold Heart (Pnau Remix) – written by Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Andrew Meecham and Dean Meredith, performed by Elton John & Dua Lipa
Little Bit Of Love – written by Daniel Bryer, Tom Grennan and Mike Needle, performed by Tom Grennan
Shivers – written by Kal Lavelle, Steve Mac, Johnny McDaid and Ed Sheeran, performed by Ed Sheeran


Ashaine White
Matilda Mann
Naomi Kimpenu


Ed Sheeran

Articles You May Like

Millions flock to mark death of TikTok ‘bones, no bones’ star – Noodle the dog
Government running out of prison places and has to ask police for 400 cells
HSBC to close over a quarter of its branches – is yours affected?
Celebrity lawyer and former Trump foe gets 14 more years in prison
Rishi Sunak says ‘racism must be confronted’ after Buckingham Palace row